Is there a LoRaWan Gateway providing MQTT connection?

Hi all,

I am quite new to LoRaWan and I was wondering if there is a LoRaWan Gateway providing MQTT connectivity so that the data can be send into my cloud. In my Cloud I have other devices (not being LoRa).

Does someone know if there is a DevKit which brings LoRa and MQTT together?

I look forward to your ideas.

Have a great weekend! :slight_smile:

Depends on if you want to run the Network & Application server on the gateway (not great but OK for a developer situation) or if you want it to communicate with a Network & Application server in your cloud.

The first, yes, examples at http://rakwireless.com. Second, personally I don’t know.

BUT and it’s a big one, we are TTN, so gateways we discuss here are connected to TTN so the community can benefit - if you are going solo this is not the forum you are looking for. Chirpstack may be able to help.

A gateway as defined in LoRaWAN will not be sufficient. You will need backend software somewhere as that handles packet decryption (and other things). There are gateways where backend software runs on the gateway, some of them might include mqtt connectivity but as far as I know that would be they run a broker where you subscribe.
If you subscribing is acceptable you can also buy a gateway, connect it to TTN and use the TTN backend which allows you to subscribe to mqtt topics to get your data.

The gateway only forwards messages to the TTN backend. It cannot read their contents. That is not how LoRaWAN and The Things Network work. Unless as @kersing mentioned you run your own private LoRaWAN backend services on your gateway (or other system) but that would be unrelated to The Things Network.

You can interface to the TTN backend via MQTT with an MQTT client to receive the decoded messages that your nodes send via your (and other) gateway(s) to the TTN backend.