Daisy-chaining no-backend gateways to a central backend enabled gateway

Hi all,

Im quite new to LoRaWAN’s so apologies if this is very basic, I couldn’t find any info on forums etc. I’m looking into setting up a network in a remote area of Southern Africa. The topography is particularly challenging and I have estimated I would need at least 3-4 gateways to get full coverage. At our head office we have good reliable internet. I was hoping to setup the other (remote) gateways to forward the packets to the gateway at the office with the internet. Is this possible and what would I need to do in order to set that up?

Also, is it possible to have ‘moving’ gateways that forward data on to static gateways. For example if I could attach a device to an elephant collar so that it picks up packets from nodes within reach and send them on to gateways - is this possible from battery power?

Thank you in advance
Sneages

Hi Sneages,
Starting with your last question first. Gateways listen all the time for transmissions from nodes and need a reliable internet connection to function correctly. They are always on, so they are a bit power hungry. I have seen YouTube presentations about solar powered gateways in the UK. By the time you have a decent sized solar panel, a mast to give the LoraWan antenna some height, and a couple of deep cycle lead acid batteries, they can be delivered on a trailer, but they are more “relocatable” than “portable”.

I think your question about a mesh of ‘moving’ gateways, trying to route packets back to headquarters, from varying locations, is going to difficult if not impossible to achieve.