Coverage in forest

Hey all, total newbie here.

I want to start a project where i measure some stuff like water level in a forest and transmit it via lorawan to my cabin, where i would like to install a gateway and connect the data to TTN.
The signal would have to travel about 600m with at least 100m of pretty dense vegetation and about 500m of plains. (see image)

Is this coverage possible? and if so, can i assemble my own gateway with the RAK2287 module connected to a raspberry Pi & transmit from a simple Arduino Uno with the Dragino shield (RFM95W)?
Or would i require more expensive stuff like The Things outdoor gateway for coverage in the forest?
I suppose that The Things Indoor gateway would definitely not work for this?

The end node would have to be pretty close to the ground for the water level measurement, but maybe i could attach the antenna in a tree? or would this only increase the interference as it needs to pass through the leaves as well?

Thanks.

Greetings,
Gauthier

With some trying things out and tests and putting antennas on poles and so forth, 600m should be possible.

If I had a customer enquiry like this, Iā€™d say that weā€™d have to try things out, do tests, put antennas on poles and so forth.

So I guess thatā€™s where you are heading.

As well as checking on mobile internet speed - LoRaWAN really needs a responsive connection - so high latency can stop the gateway processing some messages properly.

Also consider that if the trees are deciduous, they will add a whole new level of signal blocking technology in spring.

1 Like

Yes, its possible, not at all difficult.

Some practical tests of LoRa coverage in a real forest, wet and dry are here;

Lost in a (wet or dry) Forest