Cheap hobbyist V2 LoRa gateway

Hi all,

I am a bit confused when reading all the reports about problems here and please sorry, if this has already been discussed.

LoRa is very exiting, especially the possibility that the v2 gateways offer (exact timestamp for more accurate geolocation).

Would anyone give me a hint of some cheap possiblity to build such a gateway? Like with a rPi hat for example? Which one to choose? It does not need to be professional - it’s just hobby at the moment :smiley:

BTW I would even accept kits, the reflow oven is ready to do some work!

what problems ?
what is a V2 gateway ? can you give an diy example ?
what is cheap for you ?

Hi!

Problems with stability, bugs in the stack. But maybe old stories, ignore, I just like to give it a try by myself.

Sorry I am new to all this.
I’ve been told by Semtech that a so called “V2 Gateway” adds the exact timestamp to received frames for more accurate geolocation. At least I thing the gateway needs some sort of GPS hardware to do TOA/TDOA.

Cheap for me means unter $100 total price for a gateway.

First, make sure not to mix V2 of the TTN stack with V2 concentrator design for gateways. I haven’t seen a lot of information on stability issues or bugs in the gateways lately. (The notable exception seems to stability of the the first generation TTN Gateway for some people)

Given the $100 total price I don’t think there are any options at all. All concentrator boards, just one of the components, seem to start at price above that point so there is no way to get a total solution below $100. The only sub $100 solution I can think of at the moment is the TTN Indoor Gateway which does not have the GPS required for high resolution time stamp.

1 Like

Thanks for the info, Jac!
Things are getting clearer now. So

Are there any V2 concentrators boards already available?